Home > Co-Curricular > CCA > Uniformed Groups > Scouts



Our Scout unit welcomes our new Chief Scout, President Madam Halimah Yacob

Chief Commissioner’s Awardees.jpg
Chief Commissioner's Awardees

President’s Scout Awardee, Aadhithya with family and President.jpg
Our President’s Scout Awardee, Aadhithya with his family, our Scout Leaders and our President Madam Halimah Yacob

2006 Southern Cross Scout Troop
The 2006 Southern Cross Scout Troop (also known as 62nd SGS Group), was founded on 5th June 1958 by 2 teachers of St. Gabriel’s, Mr. Francis Khoo and Mr. Francis Sim. Our 2006 Southern Cross Group consists of the Scout Troop (Sec 1-3s), Venture Unit (Sec 4s and above) and the Rover Crew (Adult volunteers). Scouts are taught through the Scout Promise where every individual is encouraged to render service to the public as a form of Duty to God and to abide by the Scout Law. With a rich history and culture, we are one of the oldest Scout Units in Singapore. The troop celebrated its 60th Anniversary Campfire in 2018, marking the occasion together with Guides and Scouts from more than 20 schools.

Our Scout Troop has won the Frank Cooper Sands (Gold) award consecutively since 2010. We reached a milestone in 2010, achieving the Gold award for both our Scout Troop and Venture Unit. Our Scout Troop has also achieved a Silver Award in the 2018 National Patrol Camp, a competition to determine the standards of all the Scout Troops in Singapore. In 2018, we are also proud to have two of our Scouts being conferred the Scouts Chief Commissioner's Award, the highest award that scouts can achieve in their scouting journey at the secondary school level, and one of our Venture Scouts to be awarded the President's Scout Award, the highest rank in the Singapore Scout Association.

The Troop also participates actively in Area and National level activities such as campfires, competitions and services. In addition, our scouts also get the chance to interact and learn from our brother and sister scouts from overseas. In 2016, our troop went for an overseas exchange to Thailand.

Ms. Nurul Humairah
Ms. Siti Masykura
Mdm Hasnah Hassan
Mr. Zhang Huasheng

Training Schedule
  • Every Thursday 07.30am - 08.30am
  • Every Friday 02.30pm - 06.00pm
  • Selected Saturday 08.00am – 12.00pm

  • Scouts: Frank Cooper Sands Award (2018) - Gold
  • Ventures: Frank Cooper Sands Award (2018) - Bronze
  • National Patrol Camp (2018) – Silver

  • President’s Scout Award (2018):
    Venture Aadhithya Selvakumar (4E1 of 2015)

  • Chief Commissioner's Award (2018):
    Venture Chia Yew Leong Bryan (4E3 of 2018)
    Venture Abhimanyu Selvakumar (4E5 of 2018)